Early Years Foundation Stage

EYFS offers us guidance as to the best way to support your child’s learning and development. It runs from birth to five, which is a crucial stage in preparing your child for their future learning and success. Their early experiences should be happy, active, fun and secure. 

The EYFS seeks to provide:

  • Quality and consistency in all early years settings, so that every child makes good progress.
  • A secure foundation through learning and development opportunities based around the needs of the individual child.
  • Partnership working between early years professionals and parents and/or carers
  • Equality of opportunity ensuring every child is included and supported.

Overarching principles:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning, resilient, capable, confident and self assured.
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Children learn and develop in enabling environments, in which their individual needs are responded to.
  • Children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates.

Areas of learning and development

Your child will learn new skills and acquire new knowledge through 7 areas of development. Children should mostly 
develop 3 prime areas first.

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are essential for future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them develop skills in the 4 specific areas.

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan activities which support and develop the needs of the individual child. They are flexible so that children’s unique needs and interests are followed. 

All of this is scaffolded and planed for using the 3 characteristics of effective learning.

  • Play and exploration
  • Active learning
  • Creative and critically thinking.