Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS offers us guidance as to the best way to support your child’s learning and development. It runs from birth to five, which is a crucial stage in preparing your child for their future learning and success. Their early experiences should be happy, active, fun and secure. 

The EYFS seeks to provide:

  • Quality and consistency in all early years settings, so that every child makes good progress.
  • A secure foundation through learning and development opportunities based around the needs of the individual child.
  • Partnership working between early years professionals and parents and/or carers
  • Equality of opportunity ensuring every child is included and supported.

Overarching principles:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning, resilient, capable, confident and self assured.
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Children learn and develop in enabling environments, in which their individual needs are responded to.
  • Children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates.

Areas of learning and development

Your child will learn new skills and acquire new knowledge through 7 areas of development. Children should mostly
develop 3 prime areas first.

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are essential for future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them develop skills in the 4 specific areas.

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan activities which support and develop the needs of the individual child. They are flexible so that children’s unique needs and interests are followed. 

Copyright © 2020 Acorns Day Nursery. All Rights Reserved.